SPLBC acknowledges that it is situated on the unceded traditional territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam Indian Band), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish Nation), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh Nation)

Women's Singles Championship


A strong field of 22 women competed for the 2023 SPLBC Women’s Singles Championship.

Each would play three morning games and only the 8 with the best record would progress to play in the Quarter Finals after the lunch break. There were some upsets in the morning games and when they broke for lunch only Judy Lawson and Kris Wallace had won all three of their games. In fact, 9 bowlers finished with 6 points from two wins, so it all came down to differential and even the dreaded ‘strength of opposition‘ calculation to establish the top 8 (Judy Lawson. Kris Wallace, Toni Ludski, Linda Gorman, Cheryl Young, Naomi Yamasaki, Jenny Wong and Maggie Fee).

The quarter finals saw 2021/22 reigning champion Maggie play 2020 champion Judy, with the latter winning by 5 shots. Second year bowler Naomi defeated Toni, Linda beat Cheryl by a single point, and Jenny prevailed over Kris.

In the semi-finals, Judy came from behind to edge out Linda, while Naomi defeated Jenny.

In the final, Judy got off to a strong start, before Naomi won five of the last six ends to win 9-7 and become the 2023 SPLBC Women’s Singles Champion. A wonderful achievement for just a second year bowler!

Third place prize money went to Linda, who defeated Jenny.

L-R: Jenny Wong, Linda Gorman, winner Naomi Yamasaki, and Judy Lawson


Past Winners: 

2022 – M. Fee
2021 – M. Fee
2020 – J. Lawson
2019 – M. Hilson
2018 - D. Farlinger
2017 - P. Vanderley
2016 – M. Erwin
2015 - M. Hilson
2014 – C. Garvin
2013 – Y. Sabanskis
2012 – L. Kennedy
2011 – C. Beaulieu
2010 - S. Watanabe
2009 - M. Kawasaki
2008 - M. Kawasaki
2007 - S. Watanabe