SPLBC acknowledges that it is situated on the unceded traditional territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam Indian Band), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish Nation), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh Nation)

Men’s & Women’s Pairs Championship

Men’s & Women’s Pairs Championship 

Saturday, August 27, 9:00am  

2022 Women’s Pairs  

A total of 12 pairs teams entered this year’s SPLBC Women’s Pairs Championship.  

After the two morning games only three teams won both games. In the key game of the third round, two of those unbeaten teams faced off against each other, with the team of Linda Gorman and Emily McNamara beating Kelly Robertson and Naomi Yamasaki 12-6.  

Gorman and McNamara went into the last game knowing that a victory against the novice team of Cathy Hine and Gay Hawley would guarantee them the title and they held their nerve to make it four wins from four games (12 points). They get their names on the coveted winners plaque for the first time.  

2022 Women’s Pairs Champions Linda Gorman and Emily McNamara  


Although unbeaten in their four games with a 3-1-0 record, Petra Vanderley and Geordie had to settle for second place for the second year running. The team of Monika Postle-Hacon and Jenny Wong claimed the third place prize money, accumulating 9 points from their four games.  

L-R: Runners-up Geordie Stowell and Petra Vanderley; third place finishers Monika Postle-Hacon and Jenny Wong 



2022 Men’s Pairs  

The 2022 SPLBC Men’s Pairs Championship was a hard fought competition that went right to the last end with four teams all finishing tied on 9 points.  

Although three teams had perfect 2-0 records at the lunch break, after the third round of games the defending champions Brian Hutchinson and David Sullivan remained alone at the top with a 3-0 record and a commanding differential of +24 as they looked poised to win for the second straight year.  

But it was not to be as Hutchinson and Sullivan lost 12-3 to the eventual third place finishers Graham Mason and Wayne Hawrysh, while Albert Nieuwold and John Kruzick edged them on differential after a big 15-4 win in their last game to become the 2022 Men’s Pairs Champions. It was a thrilling finish to the day. 

2022 Men’s Pairs Champions Albert Nieuwold and John Kruzick  


Fourth place finishers Claus Braovac and Terry Severs were actually tied with Mason/Hawrysh on shot differential, only to lose out on the prize money when the ‘Strength of Opposition’ tie breaker was activated.  

L-R: Runners-up Brian Hutchinson and David Sullivan; third place finishers Wayne Hawrysh and Graham Mason 



Women’s Pairs Past Winners:  

2021 – C. Young/J. Lawson  

2018 – E. Bell/D. Farlinger/E. Murray  

2017 – G. Stowell/P. Vanderley  

2016 – C. Beaulieu/C. Young 

2015 – S. Watanabe/M. Hodgson 

2014 – L. Kennedy/N. Khajurian 

2013 – L. Goodeve/R. Brandel 

2012 – S. Watanabe/Y. Satake 

2011 – D. Schindel/L. Kennedy 

2010 – D. Adams/L. Kennedy 

2009 – S. Watanabe/Y. Satake 

2008 – P. Waine/J. Bedier 

2007 – E. Bell/ M. Hodgson 


Men’s Pairs Past Winners:  

2021 – B. Hutchinson/ D. Sullivan  

2020 – A. Nieuwold/C. Chapman (aka Gender Neutral Pairs)  

2018 – T. Ludski/D. Griffiths  

2017 – N. Wilson/B. Hutchinson  

2016 – C. Braovac/A. Carten 

2015 – A. Nieuwold/J. Carten & J. Bell/J Gerhard 

2014 – L. Erwin/ J. Sinclair 

2013 – A. Carten/K. Bespflug 

2012 – A. Nieuwold/L. Erwin 

2011 – R. Beaulieu/J. Bradford 

2010 – J. Bell/J. McCluskey 

2009 – J. Bell/A. Carten 

2008 – J. Bell/J. Gerhard 

2007 – J. Bell/ P. Spencer