SPLBC acknowledges that it is situated on the unceded traditional territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam Indian Band), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish Nation), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh Nation)

Men's Singles Championship

Held Saturday, June 17, 2023

24 registered for this 2023 SPLBC Men's Singles Championship. The tournament started with a 3-game draw in the morning. There were some surprising results, including the elimination of a five-time winner and defending champion Albert Nieuwold. The top 8 players (based on points and differential) advancing to the quarter-final knockout stage were Wayne Hawrysh, Rob Berridge, Gavin Clifford, David Lewis, Graham Mason, Ty Neilson, Brent Kushner and André Dufour. In the semi-finals, Rob Berridge defeated Gavin Clifford and Graham Mason beat André Dufour. In the championship game Graham Mason prevailed over Rob Berridge to become the 2023 SPLBC Men's Singles Champion for the first time. In the 3rd place game Gavin Clifford defeated André Dufour.

  Above L-R: Andre Dufour (4th place); Gavin Clifford (3rd place); SP President Chris Chapman; winner Graham Mason, runner-up Rob Berridge

Conditions of Play for Men’s Singles (SPLBC)  

• TRIAL ENDS: Two-up, two-back for first game only
• BELL:  A bell will start and end a game. No more jacks can be delivered after the final bell has sounded. Ends already underway can be completed. 
• HEAD VISITS: Bowlers can visit the head after their third bowl.    
• JACK OUT OF BOUNDS: Re-spot the jack on the 2 metre ‘T’. 
• SCORING: Players will get 3 points for a win, 1 point for a tie and 0 points for a loss.  Shot differentials are capped at +10 or -10 per game.  
• BYE. If a bye is unavoidable, the player receiving the bye will be awarded 3 points and a shot differential that is the average of all other games in that same round.  
• STANDINGS: The following criteria will be used to break ties in the standings: (a) points scored; (b) shot differential record; (c) strength of opposition based on electronic rankings**.
• SCORE CARDS: At the completion of each game, both players sign both scorecards and the winning player will return both signed cards to the scorekeeper. 
• UMPIRE: No umpire will be available.  An umpire kit is available for all to use if needed. If any disputes arise, contact the convener. 
• FOOTWEAR & DRESS CODE: Bowlers should wear collared shirts. 
• CELL PHONES: As a courtesy please turn off cell phones or put on vibrate mode. Do not hold telephone conversations during the game.
• PRIZES:  Will be paid out at the Awards Dinner. 
• INCLEMENT WEATHER: All players must be ready to play regardless of the weather. 

*The Convener has the authority to suspend, reduce, cancel or reschedule play if adverse weather conditions are an issue. 

 **Strength of opposition (SOO) is a way to break a tie in the final standings when points and differential are equal between two or more teams. Simply put, the team that had the toughest draw (based on the final standings of the teams you have played) will win the tie breaker. Our electronic scoreboard makes this easy to determine. SOO is established by adding up the final placement standings of your four opponents and the lower the total, the stronger the opposition. For example, TEAM 'A' and TEAM 'B' finished with identical points and differential. However, TEAM 'A' played against teams that finished 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th in the final standings, so their 'SOO' would add up to  ‘26’. TEAM 'B' played against teams that ended up in 20th, 21st, 22nd and 23rd place (their SOO would add up to ‘86’) so TEAM 'A' clearly had a tougher draw and therefore win the tie breaker decision. Remember, the lower SOO number wins the tiebreaker. If our electronic scoreboard is not in use, prize money will be shared between the teams involved.


Past winners: 

2023 – G. Mason
2022 – A. Nieuwold
2021 – A. Nieuwold
2020 – R. Berridge
2019 – T. Severs
2018 - B. Hutchinson
2017 - A. Nieuwold
2016 – P. Shaw
2015 – H. Schindel
2014 - A. Carten
2013 - B. Morton
2012 - B. Morton
2011 - A. Nieuwold
2010 - A. Nieuwold
2009 - F. Iftody
2008 - J. Bell
2007 - J. Bell